Just What The Doctor Ordered

Medicine cabinets. Everyone has one, no one knows how to make it not look like a mess. It’s kind of like the tupperware cabinet’s twin. Today’s project not only had the “where do I put this” element, but also the element of space, which is another evil factor in medicine cabinets. Who makes a cabinet that’s only 6 inches wide and 10 inches deep!?

I was skeptical at first on how this project would turn out. I was scared of using too many things to organize, so instead of using lots of different containers and weird Pinterest methods I picked just two and then used my noggin’ πŸ˜‰

My first step was to throw out expired medication. Old medication can be ineffective or even dangerous, so this an important first step! The next step was to measure the cabinets before we headed off to Target.

This box was in the office section of Target. It was a perfect fit for all of the boxes that she had. I put them all with the name or label facing out, so they’d be easier to get to.

These mini drawers are also from the office section of Target. I tried to keep all of the same together, which in this case was sleeping remedies and first aid bandages. We then labeled them to make sure the meds would be easy to find.

One of my rules for organizing is that if a storage container is not see-through, you must have a label!Β Otherwise you spend extra time searching for something, and the organizing won’t be worth it! I do love everything to be see-through, but in our case, that wasn’t possible because of the space restrictions. But these worked out perfectly!

sidenote: I love how Adrienne decided to write “wounds” when I asked her to write what she wanted for the labels. That girl has a different “wound” from running/walking the dog every week, so that was the perfect word for her. πŸ™‚

On the left is the old cabinet, and on the right you can see the drastic difference and how easy it is now to see everything! The bottom shelf has the drawers, which are easy to see without having to completely pull them out. The middle shelf has the bottles, which are still easy to see. The top shelf has the bigger items, and the box that is very easy to take down and look for what you need.

Voila! This medicine cabinet was pretty daunting at first, but with just a couple of items (less than $10) and some creative thinking, it all came together.

My work for this week is done, but I wanted to tell you guys that I was invited by Virginia is for Bloggers to do a post this week. It’s the short story of how I got started in organizing, so if you’re interested, check it out here!

4 thoughts on “Just What The Doctor Ordered

  1. I really need to clean out my medicine cabinet. It would make soooo much more room.

    I also love your tip that if the storage box isn’t see through, that you need to label it. I can’t tell you how many time I’ve looked through every box in a room to find one thing. A label would make my life much easier, especially in my craft room.

Leave a Reply

