And It Was All Yellow

There comes a time in your DIY life when you realize there are items that made it into your room but have yet to figure out what they want to be when they grow up. Enter: My standing lamp. My old landlord gave me this gem when I moved in and it has been hanging around a little over a year now. I am pleased to tell you it now has newย life:

lamp

So to transform this lamp I needed a can of yellow spray paint (I got one that had primer included), sandpaper, newspaper to keep everything from turning yellow, and a new, silver cord. I also bought a new lampshade earlier from Lowe’s. My super handy brother-in-law took the entire lamp apart and replaced the nasty old cord with my new silver one while I sandpapered all of the pieces one by one to smooth them out. I then spray painted the lamp (outside!) in layers, only waiting about 5 minutes before each new layer. It went really well, for the most part!

(My) Main Spray Painting Issues:

1. Spray paint clouds. They’re elusive and super overpowering when you realize you’re standing in them. Run. Away….FAST. For the sake of your lungs and your clothes, folks.

2. BUGS. My yellow spray paint either smelled like fresh flowers or looked too much like pollen because I’ll bet I spray painted at least 7 bugs yellow by accident.

To fix the problem, I just flicked them off and spray painted again. I’m pretty sure I didn’t get all of them though, so that’ll just add another modern touch to my new lamp ๐Ÿ˜‰

It only took about an hour total, and during my 5 minute breaks (or my “I’m getting high off the fumes” breaks) I helped my sister with some intense yard work. See proof below!

Disclaimer: No one was hurt in the cutting down of tree limbs or spray painting of the lamp. Minus bugs, which had no business being near my lamp anyway.

IMAG0865

Me, conquering my fear of heights! But now that I think about it, maybe itย wasย the fumes that made me think this was a good idea. I had no intentions of going up on the ladder, let alone climbing up the tree and cutting down a branch with an extended saw…

Another Disclaimer while I’m at it:ย I’m 99% sure I’m being put on a watch list by Lowe’s, because I went in to buy spray paint twice this weekend.

Oh, DIY, how I love thee… ๐Ÿ˜€

5 thoughts on “And It Was All Yellow

  1. Pingback: Fresh Faces | Neat As You Please

Leave a Reply

