Halloween and Pumpkin Carving

pumpkins

Happy (early) Halloween!

 

 

 

seeds

I‘ve carved two pumpkins so far and with both I’ve baked the pumpkin seeds. They are so addicting! I looked up some recipes on the internet but my best method was this:

1. Separate the guts from the seeds as best you can into two bowls

2. Rinse the pumpkin seeds in a strainer

3. Put the pumpkin seeds in a bowl and add in two tablespoons of melted butter

4. Spread out seeds onto a greased baking sheet

5. Add on a decent amount of salt to the top

6. Bake for 15 minutes at 300 degrees or until golden brown

Voila!

They end up having the addictiveness as popcorn and they tend to only last 1-2 days around my apartment, but they are delish. I’m not a big fan of the normal pumpkin flavor, and the seeds surprisingly don’t taste anything like that, so it works out really well 😉

This past weekend I dressed up as Pebbles. It’s amazing how easy it is to make a costume out of what you have. Black tights, a leopard print shirt, and a styrofoam bone made for a very low-key Halloween:

IMG_9930

 

Saturday I frolicked around DC’s Eastern Market, one of my favorite spots on Capitol Hill, and ate at Good Stuff Eatery, one of my favorite spots from when I used to live there.

Sunday my sister Adrienne ran the DC Marine Corps Marathon and it was amazing. There’s seriously nothing like seeing someone you care about doing so well in a race 🙂

IMG_9946

 

All in all, a great weekend! Loving this Fall weather 🙂

 

One thought on “Halloween and Pumpkin Carving

Leave a Reply

