Christmas Tree Weekend

This past week I set up my work’s Christmas tree, my apartment’s Christmas tree, and then this weekend, on the day the highs went back down below 45, Zach and I decided we would bare the cold to cut down a tree for his apartment. I hadn’t done it since I was little, so needless to say the little kid in me was pumped.

We headed over to Hanover Pines, which we found from this lovely article from RVA News.

It was a pretty drive there, and we were greeted by this lovely store. But we were on a mission, so we were soon looking for a saw to cut down the tree.

IMG_0287

IMG_0310There were lots of different kinds of trees (to which we know nothing about), but it didn’t take long for us to realize that we would not want to get close enough to a prickly one to chop it down. It only took about 10 minutes to find a non-lethal one, and another 5 to chop it down!

IMG_0308The burly men of Hanover Pines loaded my baby tree up:

IMG_0311Then, of course, came the decorating of the tree while listening to the classy music of NSYNC’s Christmas album.

IMG_0327(Note to self: Use the entire eight screws to help hold the tree up; we came home to a toppled tree not too long afterwards…But no worries! It’s still alive and kickin’).

The next day, we went over to his mom’s house and set up her tree as well. I was praised for my Christmas tree fluffing abilities 🙂 Really starting to think I was a Christmas decorator in my previous life.

IMG_0344

If it was cold, I hope you enjoyed the excuse to stay indoors, and if it’s warm where you are, then…know that there are many people who are jealous of you right now! 😉

5 thoughts on “Christmas Tree Weekend

  1. That is a LOT of Christmas tree decorating you have had going on! Our tree has been threatening to topple as well since we have a too big stand and the guy cut it lopsided… yikes. So far so good though.

Leave a Reply

